PDA

View Full Version : How ridiculous is english level in my country!

Cinderella
2012-01-10, 12:51
I cannot believe it! :mad:

I'm studying an Access Proof to get into University, next year. And I have catalan, spanish, english, biology and chemistry as subjects. Well, I'm going to tell about english classes...

The requirements are ridiculous!

- No oral proof. Just writting.
- Easy sentences like: I have read one book this morning.
- A level of vocabulary that a fifteen-year-old boy or girl could do, when this is supossed to be a english level to a universitary person.

And people in general tried hard to make the exercises (I didn't make them because of how easy they are). Some of them complaining how difficult is english. And everybody asking me a lot of things; I recognize I'm not Shakespeare, of course, but next to my classmates it seemed I was.

1- I am wondering if this poor level of english is also in Southern Europe countries, with a high level of unemployment like Italy, Portugal, Greece...

2- Is it strange we have a 20% of unemployed people here? Now I felt we deserve it!

:sick:

3- Is it related the level of english of a population and the quality of their jobs and percentage of unemployment?

ducktard
2012-01-10, 13:07
Haha! The English classes here are really easy too! I get more than 90% marks without studying at all. While my classmates struggle.

Loxias
2012-01-10, 13:24
The English level in France is also rather dismal. Although unemployment is not that high (yet).

Sakarisker
2012-01-10, 13:34
Many jobs require knowledge of English although it is not necessary for the job in question, but relate unemployed with knowledge of English is another of your nonsense.

I think the lack of English in the countries of southern Europe is basically because it is more difficult to learn for someone Latin-speaker than a Germanic/Nordic-speaker, if the world language was French or Italian instead of English, I'm sure the opposite would happen.

Vallespir