Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: X-chromosome inheritance patterns1619 days old

Established Member
    Last Online
    @
    Brazilian
    Brazil

Default X-chromosome inheritance patterns

If you have found cousins at your X at 23andme, then this should be interesting to know. I'm not an expert, I'm assuming this is right. Could anyone confirm it please?

The chart for a woman's X DNA inheritance shows that she inherits 25% (0%-50%) of her X DNA from her maternal grandmother. This means that on the average, a woman inherits 25% of her X DNA from her maternal grandmother, but could inherit as little as 0% or as much as 50%. The chart also shows that a woman inherits 50% (50%) of her X DNA from her paternal grandmother. This means that a woman inherits exactly 50% of her X DNA from her paternal grandmother. These charts ignore the possibility of Y crossover, which doesn't seem to contribute significantly to X chromosomes.
    http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb....heritance.html

X chromosome inheritance for a woman:

5 generations chart:
    http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb....%205%20gen.pdf

6 generations chart:
    http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb....%206%20gen.pdf

X chromosome inheritance for a man:

5 generations chart:
    http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb....%205%20gen.pdf

6 generations chart:
    http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb....%206%20gen.pdf
    Sche innam me pepicke keseagu

2. The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to Ubirajara For This Useful Post:

Cyra (2014-11-20), El R5 (2012-10-05), Hoxxx (2012-09-25), muso (2012-09-22), Raez (2017-02-02), xVCAKAIK123xX (2012-12-07)

Established Member
    Last Online
    2013-01-23 @ 08:39

Do you mean cousins, or do you mean "cousins"? I have a ~9cm "cousin" match on the x chromosome-he's my only one.

4. The Following User Says Thank You to guitarcrazy For This Useful Post:

Ubirajara (2012-09-15)

Established Member
    Last Online
    @
    Brazilian
    Brazil