proto-Semitic
    Ethnicity
    Assyrian/Armenian
    Politics
    Environment, Cannabis
    Religion
    Secular Agnostic
    Assyria Assyria 1913-1923 Armenia Lebanon Sweden Greece

Default Liberalism and Libertarianism, what's the difference?

After a quick glance in this section, I couldn't find a thread about this, so I decided to start one.

Liberalism and libertarianism are very similar ideologies; as can be inferred from their names, both are centred around freedom (mostly of the individual variety, but corporations also tend to have lots of freedoms in liberal societies). However, I've noticed a lot of hostility between libertarians and liberals, this is especially the case in America. It's like two warring factions within an ideology.

I'm no expert on liberalism, but if I've understood it right, libertarianism is basically "classical liberalism", whereas liberalism is something else. This causes confusion for the unacquainted non-experts. It's completely retarded to have two different but related words, both meaning the same thing: