Thread: How much Finns can understand Russian?1037 days old

Established Member
    Last Online
    Yesterday @ 23:59
    Slavic
    Ethnicity
    Belarusian
    Lithuania Grand Duchy

Default How much Finns can understand Russian?

I can understand Russian and Polish beside my mother tongue which is Belarusian. There's a joke among Russians that if you give a tip to a Finnish taxi driver he'd sing known Russian songs.

I know Estonians can understand Russian. Latvians, Lithuanians, and Estonians use Russian language to communicate. But how well can an ordinary Finn understand Russian?

When I was an exchange student I met a girl whose name was Katja. She was good looking and I though she was an eastern Slav because of her name and looks. But she was a Finn from Helsinki; and she couldn't speak or understand any Slavic language. We became good friends.

Anyway! Can Finns understand Russian at all? Or English or Swedish is more popular among Finns?

2. # ADS
    Advertisement bot

Established Member
    Last Online
    @
    I1-L258
    mtDNA
    H39
    Phenotype
    Appalachid
    Metaethnos
    Finnic-Baltic-Germanic
    Ethnicity
    Finnish
    Politics
    Vandalism in Rome
    Finland European Union

Quote Originally Posted by Rugevit View Post
    I can understand Russian and Polish beside my mother tongue which is Belarusian. There's a joke among Russians that if you give a tip to a Finnish taxi driver he'd sing known Russian songs.

I know Estonians can understand Russian. Latvians, Lithuanians, and Estonians use Russian language to communicate. But how well can an ordinary Finn understand Russian?

When I was an exchange student I met a girl whose name was Katja. She was good looking and I though she was an eastern Slav because of her name and looks. But she was a Finn from Helsinki; and she couldn't speak or understand any Slavic language. We became good friends.